Jamie sets the strategic vision for SCORE, leads SCORE’s executive team, and builds and strengthens SCORE’s partnerships with leaders in education in Tennessee and across the nation. She has been at the forefront of Tennessee’s work to raise student achievement and prepare all students for success in postsecondary education and the workforce.

Before joining SCORE in 2011, Jamie served in both houses of the Tennessee General Assembly. During her 12 years in the Senate, where she was chairman of the Education Committee and speaker pro tempore, she spearheaded efforts to identify and support effective teaching, raise academic expectations for Tennessee students, turn around low-performing schools, and support student-focused innovation. In addition, she was a key leader in Tennessee’s work to transform public higher education by aligning Tennessee’s postsecondary system and the state’s economic goals through changes in academic, fiscal, and administrative policies.

She supports student-focused education policy and practice across the state and nation by serving on the boards of the PIE (Policy Innovators in Education) Network, EdReports.org, The Columbia Group, Transformational Leadership Advisory Council, the Tennessee Independent Colleges and University Association, Tennessee Association of Colleges of Teacher Education, and Teacher & Leader Effectiveness. She is an alumna of the Pahara-Aspen Institute Fellowship in Entrepreneurial Leadership in Education, the Hunt-Kean Leadership Fellows, Leadership Tennessee, and the Aspen Institute-Rodel Fellowship in Public Leadership.

Jamie served as co-chairman of the Knight Commission on Trust, Media, and Democracy in 2017-18. She also serves as a member of the Tennessee Wildlife Commission, the Governor’s Foundation for Health and Wellness Board, the Tennessee Business Roundtable Policy Committee, and the University of Tennessee Political Science Advisory Board.

A Tennessee native, Jamie attended Shelby County public schools and earned her Bachelor of Arts and Doctor of Jurisprudence degrees from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville. She was selected as a “Torchbearer,” the highest honor a UTK undergraduate can receive.